Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts with the label facebook

Do's and Dont's on Facebook

10 commandments of Facebook   Wonder how much of personal information is fine on Facebook? Well, an expert tells you the dos and don'ts of being a part of the social networking giant. Dave Whitelegg said that although Facebook is a fun way to keep in touch with friends and family, it can also be dangerous. "Posting certain photos or information on the site puts you at risk of being fired, a victim of crime, or even worse. There are computer programmes called 'data mining' that sweep Facebook to collect dates of birth, phone numbers, addresses etc. That's gold dust to criminals," the Sun quoted Whitelegg, an IT security expert, as saying. Here are the 10 things you should never post on Facebook and why. Date and place of birth- This places you at massive risk of identity theft. They are the most commonly used security questions on password resetting sites. Mother's maiden name- A lot of sites use your mother's maiden name to authenticat...

Facebook Dials Up Security with Temporary Passwords via Text

Facebook has released a new feature to help users protect their accounts when they log into public computers: one-time passwords. The feature is simple: users that want to use a public computer but don’t want to risk using their sensitive passwords on it can text “opt” to 32665. If their phone is linked to their FacebookFacebook account, they’ll be texted back a temporary password that can only be used once and expires in 20 minutes. The feature “should be available to everyone in the coming weeks,” according to Facebook. One-use passwords make perfect sense; once you’re done with your Facebook session at an airport or a hotel computer and log out, nobody else can get in because the password will have expired. Even if someone installed a keylogger, it wouldn’t matter. You don’t have to worry about whether you need to change your password because you accidentally told FirefoxFirefox to save it. The world’s largest social network has been focusing in on security recently. Last mo...

Facebook to Change How You Process Friend Requests

On Facebook, you have two options for processing friend requests — confirm or ignore. Today, we’re learning that Facebook is replacing the “Ignore” button with a “Not Now” button, that when clicked, will place the friend request in a separate section called “Hidden Requests.” Inside Facebook was first to report on the new “Not Now” option, and Facebook (Facebook) has since confirmed that it is indeed replacing the current “Ignore” option for all members and will be rolling it out to everyone in the next few days. The “Not Now” alternation will change how you process friend requests moving forward. You can continue to confirm requests as usual, but if you’re not interested in friending a wannabe connection, you’ll now need to click the “Not Now” button. That action will not ignore the request, but hide it, relegating it instead to a new “Hidden Requests” menu for future processing. “If you choose ‘Not Now’, the other person will never be notified that you have hidden their request...