Follow by Email

Friday, April 1, 2011

Utkal Diwas ... the Odisha Day

Odisha Day (also Odisha Day or Utkal Divas) is celebrated on 1st April in Odisha in the memory of the formation of the state as a separate province on 1 April, 1936. After losing its complete political identity in 1568 following the defeat and demise of the last Hindu king Mukunda Dev, efforts resulted into the formation of a politically separate state under British rule on linguistic basis on 1 April, 1936.

The main revolution for the separate state was continued for three decades from the very day of formation of Utkal Sammilani that lead the foundation of a separate Orissa Province. The movement was more intensed with the leadership of Utkal Gourab Madhusudan Das, Maharaja Krushna Chandra Gajapati, Pandit Nilakantha Das, Bhubanananda Das and many others with the support of the public. The newly formed Orissa consisted of six districts namely Cuttack, Puri, Balasore, Sambalpur, Koraput and Ganjam having its capital at Cuttack. Sir John Austin Hubbak took oath of office and became the first Governor of Orissa Province

Happy Utkal Diwas to all Odishians .... :-)

more information:- Odisha Day 'Utkal Divas' 2011


  1. Pretty excellent post. I just stumbled upon your blog site and wished to say that I have really liked reading your site posts.

  2. hi,
    this bloge is relay informative. thank you

    Odisha packers and movers

  3. hi,
    great blog!i really glad to read this post.thanks!

    packers and movers in orissa